All articlesGuides

Live Answering Service: What 13 Providers Actually Promise

An answering-service operator in a headset typing a message at her workstation in the evening, with rows of mostly empty desks and dimmed lights behind her

Every live answering service promises real people, around the clock, fast. We read what thirteen of them actually commit to on their pricing pages, FAQs and terms on October 5, 2026. We sell an AI receptionist, so we compete with all of them; every claim below links to the provider's own page so you can check it.

Our articles are still written by humans!

Get human written articles in your Google feed.

Add as preferred source AI Receptionist Now, opens in a new window

What 13 providers put in writing

"Not published" means we looked and it is not on the page. Answering Service Care blocked our requests, so it is missing. Every provider claims 24/7 coverage, so that column is left out.

Commitments on each provider's own pages (checked October 5, 2026)

ProviderWhere agents areAnswer speedSpanishContract / trial
RubyUS-basedAverage under 10 secondsBilingual, 24/7Month-to-month; refund within 21 days or 500 minutes
PATLiveAll in the US (Florida)Not publishedIncludedCancel anytime; 14-day trial
AnswerConnectHome-based; country not stated99% within 1 to 4 ringsNot publishedChange anytime; no trial published
Abby ConnectUS team, Las VegasNot publishedIncludedMonth-to-month; free trial
Smith.ai“No overseas agents”Not publishedSpanish line, $1.00Month-to-month; 30-day refund, overage excluded
Specialty Answering ServiceUS company; operators not statedNot publishedAvailableMonth-to-month; 14-day trial
AMBS Call Center“100% U.S.-based” and “vast majority” on the same page80%+ in 3 ringsBilingualNot on the pricing page
Signius100% US-basedNot publishedMedical service onlyMonth-to-month; 7-day trial
MAP CommunicationsUS-basedNot publishedIncludedNo long-term contract
NexaNot publishedNot publishedBilingualNot published; no prices
Moneypenny US“Based in America”Not publishedBilingualNo contract; 30 days' notice
Davinci VirtualNot statedNot publishedNot publishedNo long-term commitment

Answer speed and hold

The three speed claims are measured three ways - an average, a ring count for 99% of calls, a ring count for 80% - so they cannot be compared with each other, and none is a guarantee. AMBS is the only provider that says what happens to queued calls: an average hold under 60 seconds. The rest are silent on the moment a live service is most likely to fail you: two callers at once.

If you want a concrete number to put in a contract, borrow one. Medicare requires the call centers of its Part D plans to answer 80% of calls within 30 seconds, keep average hold to 2 minutes and keep the disconnect rate to 5% (42 CFR 423.128). It does not apply to answering services; it is simply the most specific public standard we found.

An answering-service floor in the middle of the night, with long rows of empty desks and headsets resting on them, and two operators working far away at the back
Nobody publishes overnight staffing levels, and the night is when a queue is most likely.

What 60 calls a month cost

One assumed small business: 60 calls a month, 2 minutes 10 seconds of talk each. Each provider's own rounding rule is applied, talk time only. Full rate cards are in our cost comparison.

60 calls of 2 min 10 s on published plans (our calculation, October 5, 2026)

ProviderRoundingBilled minutesCheapest fitMonthly
SigniusNot published130-180125 min for $170 + $1.25/min$176.25-$238.75
MAP CommunicationsNot published130-180125 min for $179 + $1.30/min$185.50-$250.50
Specialty Answering ServicePer second130100 min for $159 + $1.44/min$202.20
AMBS Call CenterUp to 30 s150100 min for $149 + $1.29/min$213.50 + $85 once
PATLiveFirst minute, then 6 s132100 min for $189 + $2.09/min$255.88
AnswerConnectUp to a whole minute180200 min for $350$350 + $49.99 once
Moneypenny USUp to 30 s, after wrap-up150+100 min for $265 + $2.12/min$371+
Abby ConnectNot published130-180100 min for $329 + $3.29/min$427.70-$592.20
Smith.aiPer call60 calls30 calls for $300 + $11.50/call$645
RubyNot published130-180200 min (smaller plan's overage not published)$720
  • Rounding is a pricing decision. The same call is 130 billed seconds at Specialty Answering Service and 180 at AnswerConnect.
  • An unpublished increment is worth an email. It is the only reason the Signius, MAP and Abby ranges are $60 to $165 wide.
  • Pay-as-you-go stops being cheap fast.PATLive's $49 plan would cost $443.68 here, against $255.88 on its 100-minute plan.

Is any of it AI?

Most of these companies now sell AI too, and they draw the line differently. Ruby: a human always picks up, AI assists in the background. Abby Connect: you choose human, AI or a mix per call type. AMBS and Moneypenny: AI is a separate plan. AnswerConnect: "we pledge to keep every customer interaction human". If a human voice is what you are paying for, put it in the contract.

Test it in the free trial

PATLive and Specialty Answering Service publish 14-day trials, Signius 7 days, Abby Connect a trial on every plan. Set up forwarding (how-to), then place these ten calls from a number the agents will not recognise.

A test plan of ten calls in three groups. Timing: 8:58 a.m., 12:15 p.m., 2:10 a.m., Saturday afternoon, and two calls at the same second. Script: a price the script does not contain, an urgent situation, and a request for Spanish. Delivery: one routine message timed from hang-up to arrival. For each call, record seconds to a human, seconds on hold, whether the name and number were captured correctly, and billed minutes
One slow call is noise. A pattern across ten is information. (Illustration by AI Receptionist Now)

At the end, compare the billed minutes on the invoice with your own call log for those ten calls. It takes twenty minutes and shows how the provider really rounds.

Seven questions before you sign

  1. Where are the agents who will answer my calls, including overnight?
  2. Can any of my calls be answered by software, and can I switch it off?
  3. What is your answer-time target, and will you report my actual figure monthly?
  4. What does a caller hear when every agent is busy, and for how long on average?
  5. How is a call rounded, and are wrap-up, hold or dialling billed?
  6. What are the setup fee, notice period and billing cycle?
  7. Can I hear recordings of my own calls during the trial?

When live is worth it

We sell the alternative, so weigh this accordingly. A live service is the better buy when calls need judgement or empathy that cannot be scripted, when your callers expect a person, or when you need a caller patched through to you while they wait - which our product does not do (it takes the message, texts you, and can ring you for urgent calls). AI is the better buy when most calls are routine bookings and messages and per-minute billing is getting expensive: our Solo plan is 99 euros a month for 1,000 minutes, one call at a time; Team is 299 euros, three at a time (pricing). Many businesses use software for routine calls and a person for anything flagged.

Not verified: we did not place test calls to these providers; speed figures are their own claims. Prices change - check the linked pages.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a live answering service cost?

On pricing pages read on October 5, 2026, pay-as-you-go plans start at $44 to $49 a month plus $1.35 to $2.99 a minute, and bundles run $149 to $395 for about 100 minutes. For 60 calls a month of 2 minutes 10 seconds each, the cheapest published fit ranged from about $176 (Signius) to $720 (Ruby), partly because providers round each call differently.

How fast does a live answering service pick up?

Most do not say. Of 13 providers we checked, only Ruby (average under 10 seconds), AnswerConnect (99% within one to four rings) and AMBS Call Center (80% or more in three rings) publish a speed claim, and only AMBS publishes a hold target (an average under 60 seconds). Measure the rest during a free trial.

Are live answering service agents based in the US?

Ruby, PATLive, Abby Connect, Signius, MAP Communications and Moneypenny US say so in writing, and Smith.ai says it uses no overseas agents. AnswerConnect, Specialty Answering Service, Nexa and Davinci do not state where agents sit. If it matters, put it in the contract.

Do live answering services use AI?

Some do. Ruby says a human always picks up and AI assists in the background; Abby Connect lets you choose human, AI or a mix per call type; AMBS and Moneypenny sell AI as separate plans; AnswerConnect pledges to keep every interaction human. Ask for the answer in writing.

Sources

  1. Ruby: pricing
  2. Ruby: FAQ (answer time, AI, bilingual)
  3. Ruby: FAQs (money-back guarantee, month-to-month)
  4. PATLive: pricing (trial, pay-as-you-go, Spanish)
  5. PATLive: FAQ (US-based, cancellation)
  6. AnswerConnect: homepage (answer speed, human-only pledge)
  7. AnswerConnect: plans (price, setup fee, rounding)
  8. Abby Connect: pricing (plans, human/AI mix, trial)
  9. Smith.ai: receptionist pricing
  10. Specialty Answering Service: pricing
  11. AMBS Call Center: pricing (answer speed, hold target, rounding)
  12. Signius: pricing
  13. MAP Communications: pricing
  14. Nexa: pricing
  15. Moneypenny US: pricing
  16. Moneypenny US terms and conditions (wrap-up time, 30-second rounding)
  17. Davinci Virtual: live receptionist plans
  18. 42 CFR 423.128 - call center standards for Medicare Part D plan sponsors (eCFR)